OIL CLEANSING METHOD with a twist

Have you heard of the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM)? It’s where you wash your face with oil. Wait…WHAT!? Won’t that make me break out? My face is already oily, why would I even think about slathering oil all over my face? These are questions that went through my mind when I first heard about this method. I decided to try it anyway based on the good reviews I had read about it. 

I tried it out on my oily skin and I couldn’t believe how much I actually liked it. Not only was my skin glowing and soft, but it wasn’t overly oily anymore. It was just moisturized and clean feeling. Why didn’t I think of this…fight oil with oil!

I have tried different oils and oil combinations like Castor oil, olive oil, coconut oil, jojoba oil, sunflower oil, sesame oil, and hazelnut oil. I really like to use coconut oil for my skin in the shower for my face, as a body lotion, and for shaving. (Be careful using any oil in the shower as it becomes extremely slippery!!)

When I ran out of coconut oil, I decided to use my Dr. Bronner’s castile soap (which I use as a body wash) to wash my face. My face felt really clean, but dry. When I got out of the shower, I dabbed on some hazelnut oil since I had some on hand and heard that it’s good for acne prone skin. I loved the results.

The lazy girl in me wanted to take it one step further and combine the two into a one step product. In a small squirt bottle I poured in one part castile soap and three parts hazelnut oil. I shake it up really well and it gives it a milky look. I squirt a quarter-sized amount on to a face scrubby that I crocheted and gently wash my face in the hot shower when my pores are open towards the end of the shower. Then I rinse it off and pat my face dry when I get out of the shower with a microfiber cloth. If your face feels a little bit dry afterwards, gently dab a little bit of oil on your face. Next time you make the face wash you can reduce the amount of soap, or add more depending on your skin and what you like.

This is the first face wash I have been able to stick with because of how much I love the results. I don’t remember ever having such pretty skin compared to what it used to be like. I personally don’t break out like I used to anymore and my skin always has a pretty glow, even with makeup on. I hope you all love this like I do!! Let me know if you try it out! 🙂

xoxo, Jen

P.S. Know your allergies. Use anything I mention at your own risk. Read my disclaimer page.

Leave a Reply

