DIY Vaseline & Lotion Recipes

It’s Earth Day! What better time than now to start making your own products? It’s been almost a year since I made the decision to start making my own lotions and potions from scratch with no chemicals. The first lotion product I ever tried to make (which turned out good and was so simple), was mixing 3 already made ingredients together. You’ve probably seen the Pinterest post of the baby lotion, Vaseline, and vitamin E cream all mixed together to make a luxurious feeling lotion. Well after all of the research I have done over the past months, I learned how petroleum jelly is not so good for us. It’s basically a leftover residue of crude oil. Ick! Who wants to slather that on their lips, hands, face, etc.?

Well, I made a great alternative to petroleum jelly. I only used two ingredients and it turned out great! All you need is beeswax and olive oil. You can use a different oil if you prefer, but olive oil has worked well! Now that I made my own “petroleum jelly” I can make a healthier version of the famous Pinterest post going around.

Here’s the ingredients:

  • 1 part beeswax
  • 2 parts olive oil

Directions:

  1. melt the wax and oil together in a double boiler on low. Stir occasionally.
  2. Pour into a jar and let cool.
  3. Apply as you would petroleum jelly products. 🙂

For the lotion I used 2 parts homemade lotion, 1 part “petroleum jelly,” and 1 part Vitamin E cream. You can just add some vitamin E oil if you don’t have the cream. I mixed all of that together with a hand mixer and stored the lotion in an airtight container. I love this stuff! I hope you like it too! (I don’t have pictures ready to upload right now, but I will update this post with pictures soon!)

Have you ever tried making homemade petroleum jelly? Enjoy!

xoxo, Jen

Leave a Reply

